To sum things up after experiencing the thrill of victory and the agony of defeat, I want to go to the olympics. I think I do this every 2 years, whether it's the winter or the summer, to be a part of an event half the world is participating as either athelte, media, employer or citizen whose backyard is used to host. I envy and end up adding (whatever city) to my wish list of travel, Beijing is now an idea one day, like Barcelona was when I went 4 years ago. I'm aware of the smog and the human rights however I'll do my best to be objective about it.
Besides, the photographers made this look so appealing. I want in.
I enjoyed being up at weird hours to watch the swim team and having the knowledge to understand what the appeal of our swim team and Michael Phelps is all about, my sister used to compete as a swimmer and watches the sport avidly. Funny, as she's more of the sports oriented and I'm in the arts, after watching and learning the stories on how the athletes got there and what it took to be there for a several seconds of glory...
...sports are no different than arts.
Seriously, it takes a lot to get there, to train in hopes to be something. There's sacrifice and dedication to become either Olympican or Creator. These are the crafts that parents fear their child will become because there's a lack of income, oh no, I'm raising either a jock or an artist.
Just great.
However, there's passion when there is focus, there is inspiration and confidence. There always has to be confidence when either competing or creating. Think of this as a Fringe show:
routine, write, rewrite, apply and hope you do get into the Fringe (or Fringes), rewrite and public read, rehearse (lots of time and money), focus on promoting your ass off in hopes that the audience will show. And when they show, you better put on the performance of your life, everyone watching, you don't stumble on your lines or your feet and believe that this show has what it takes to be a 4 star (the gold and the memorable) 3 star isn't too bad (as the silver and hope that the audience will remember you). 2 stars means you rather come in 4th.
That's right, confidence and focus, going for glory. The analogy works in many ways.
Well, that's how I see it. I really am into the sports than in the arts. It's like how Ustan Bolt put it as he points and waves, blows kisses into the crowd and pounds his chests and screams after setting another world record, he is a preformer, this is what the crowd wants.
Sports is simply another form of entertainment. Itself an art form, check out the photo galleries or read the stories. It is like dance, theatre, the tall man show posse like a basketball team, sketch com like swimming, you get the picture.
In the case of Canada, it is also lacking funding (in both areas).
The government announced that they are cutting funding in the Arts, the same time that Canada was medal less the first 7 days of the Olympics, it didn't look good for the nation knowing that our best can't compete and be elite like the rest. Most of the sports competing either have lack of or no funding at all (money coming from the athetes pockets). Funding is essental so more people can either play or perform. Talent cannot be wasted however we all can't be like Michael Phelps, we're not forturnate to have endoresments or funding, there are staving atheltes and artists out there.
Meanwhile, Phelps eats for 6 people in one day (I really wanted to use the joke).
I actually would want to see funding in sports, sports are inspiring and confidence boosting. It creates jobs for coaches, there's a science into wanting to be faster, going higher, becoming stronger. The sacrifice in training, no real life for a mere few seconds, the pay off if you finish in the top 10. I enjoy watching and cheering for someone who either was brought up by a single mom or living in poverty. These stories are memerable, like the South African who does open water swimming (and has only one limb), or the 1st medal for Afganistan or someone coming back from a serious injury, to perservere from adverstity.
I don't come across that in the arts, all I see are egos, divas and lack of originality. I'm ashamed of what I've seen in the last while, I ask myself if we (as artists) ever inspire for the good of people. I've seen some good shows however was not happy about the attitude. I do believe in confidence however all I see instead are assholes. Also, I don't recall anything that I found memorable, I remember the 1/1000 of a second win from Phelps or 9.68 from Bolt but I don't recall what Fringe show I liked in Toronto or a dance show or vernissage I enjoyed.
My point of view is this: Vancouver is next to host the world, there is a campain called "Own the Podium" where the goal is for Canada to finish first in medals, win some golds. They are putting funding in all sports to hit the podium or finish in the top 10, to compete with the likes of the United States, Russia, China, Australia. Countries that have proper funding in both fields of sports and arts.
Maybe Canada should do something like that with the Arts, that each field should earn it's way. I want to believe that the arts can do good however in the last while I'm not impress. I want to be inspired, I only see it in the pool or on the track, not the stage or at a gallery.
However, there is one thing that both the Olympic village and the Fringe circuit has something to boast about: what happens in the village, stays in the village (if you get what I mean).
Go Canada. This is where having a medal matters.
Monday, August 25, 2008
Monday, August 11, 2008
Now or Never, rules and goals for year 29
So, a few days ago I turned 29 on the 08/08/08. I must mentioned I was born at precisely 12:21 AM. If you're really a true believer of numerology then I must be a walking lottery ticket. I've been on the contemplative side (hence the title of my blog) and evaluating what has happened so far photo wise the last few years and in the last 6 months personally.
I'm doing good as a photographer, not so as a person.
Two years ago at 27 I never saw myself getting published and taking pics of bands, theatre and getting paid. I also was with a somewhat awesome guy who would later on tell me I'm not suited to be his wife and bear his children and has never paid me back for helping him inbetween jobs.
This might explain a lot about my dating record as I dwell on those words like an atlethe making a mistake that would cost them big. It's hard to shake off the psychology of bad incidents however I entered a slippery slope of bad events since I graduated from University. Like most of us, the achievement of finishing the degree is the end of a journey that has been a third of our lives. The opportunity of doing whatever we please can be a blessing and a curse, true freedom can be powerful but can make you vulnerable.
I learned that the hard way and here I am redeeming myself for what has happened. It's now or never, what is there left to lose?
For one thing, I changed the title of my Blog to Simply know Better (I dropped the "I" for the sake of not totally being the central character in this). Other thing is that I will attempt to submit at least once every two weeks as I need to improve on my writing in order to believe that the creative writing degree was for a purpose.
This is year 2 out of school, still at the same job for the last five years, more weirdoes attempting to "shoot and score" however "misses the crossbar" (in short: to get into my pants and not my heart) and the frustation of clueless nowheres surrounding the city.
Thus including some art related situations.
I sit here decided what to do next. School is an option however I wish to really give photography the chance I know it deserves. However...
I don't want to be an art person.
I want to do photojournalism instead. I want to use photo as a tool of healing, to serve a purpose. I have a hard time when I hang out with musicans, actors, even political science majors. I sometimes feel that there are bad intentions, secrets, backstabbing, egos and self fishness.
My parents did not sacrifice and raised me to become pretencious and idiotic. They also didn't raise me to be a flake and a douchebag that I was in the last few months.
In finding a balance, you have to really be yourself, not a photographer or student or employee. It's a challenge to stay sane in the industry, wanting you to like what they like when you think it's a bunch of crap. Also to like what you like knowing that what you like is genuine and sincere and not bandwagoning on a trend or what others think. It's hard when you think about how much crap is out there, how people have forgotten what outside is like or what tradition can be.
I think when I do photos there has to be a reason, more than a story. Why am I doing this, why should I care. Why should you guys read a blog that hasn't found a focus yet. I'm looking for one right now, lost a lot a ground this last while.
In the next posting there will be my awesome lists. In the meantime, my main goal for year 29 will be to redeem my focus.
I'm doing good as a photographer, not so as a person.
Two years ago at 27 I never saw myself getting published and taking pics of bands, theatre and getting paid. I also was with a somewhat awesome guy who would later on tell me I'm not suited to be his wife and bear his children and has never paid me back for helping him inbetween jobs.
This might explain a lot about my dating record as I dwell on those words like an atlethe making a mistake that would cost them big. It's hard to shake off the psychology of bad incidents however I entered a slippery slope of bad events since I graduated from University. Like most of us, the achievement of finishing the degree is the end of a journey that has been a third of our lives. The opportunity of doing whatever we please can be a blessing and a curse, true freedom can be powerful but can make you vulnerable.
I learned that the hard way and here I am redeeming myself for what has happened. It's now or never, what is there left to lose?
For one thing, I changed the title of my Blog to Simply know Better (I dropped the "I" for the sake of not totally being the central character in this). Other thing is that I will attempt to submit at least once every two weeks as I need to improve on my writing in order to believe that the creative writing degree was for a purpose.
This is year 2 out of school, still at the same job for the last five years, more weirdoes attempting to "shoot and score" however "misses the crossbar" (in short: to get into my pants and not my heart) and the frustation of clueless nowheres surrounding the city.
Thus including some art related situations.
I sit here decided what to do next. School is an option however I wish to really give photography the chance I know it deserves. However...
I don't want to be an art person.
I want to do photojournalism instead. I want to use photo as a tool of healing, to serve a purpose. I have a hard time when I hang out with musicans, actors, even political science majors. I sometimes feel that there are bad intentions, secrets, backstabbing, egos and self fishness.
My parents did not sacrifice and raised me to become pretencious and idiotic. They also didn't raise me to be a flake and a douchebag that I was in the last few months.
In finding a balance, you have to really be yourself, not a photographer or student or employee. It's a challenge to stay sane in the industry, wanting you to like what they like when you think it's a bunch of crap. Also to like what you like knowing that what you like is genuine and sincere and not bandwagoning on a trend or what others think. It's hard when you think about how much crap is out there, how people have forgotten what outside is like or what tradition can be.
I think when I do photos there has to be a reason, more than a story. Why am I doing this, why should I care. Why should you guys read a blog that hasn't found a focus yet. I'm looking for one right now, lost a lot a ground this last while.
In the next posting there will be my awesome lists. In the meantime, my main goal for year 29 will be to redeem my focus.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
The story so far...
- Cindy Lopez
- Montreal, Quebec, Canada
- Cindy is trying her best to make a career as a photographer and throws in her writing as a balance (as she did a degree in Creative Writing). Cindy may have this background however still wants to understand what makes people tick, have strange stories of their own and why is it so hard from them to order coffee (really, it's not that hard).