So it comes down to a bad sports clicheI was afraid it would come down to this.
The
Canadiens, the Eastern Conference champs, not even meant to have made the playoffs, the better on paper in
comparison to Philly, down 3-1. There's a hint of cliche in the air, waiting for the Forum Ghosts to
fulfill the prophecy based on the numbers, the time it has taken for any Canadian team to win the cup and of course, the
centennial of the franchise itself.
Here it comes...
to come from behind, the team doing great however Biron is the problem. It is nearly impossible to stop a hot goalie unless one breaks his confidence. It has happened to Price, it was bound to happen. He is JUST a kid. There were never any expectations for Biron to do anything in the playoffs, he had been a journeyman stuck
inbetween two hot goaltenders back in Buffalo (referring to
Hasek and now Miller). The
Flyers are tough and will do anything to clutter up the net and be very pesky about it.
Speaking of pesky, karma caught up on Sean Avery. Lacerated spleen, gone for the season. No more Mr Jackass.
Could someone tell Crosby to save his diving techniques for the pool and score. As for the beard, not getting any better.
I was a little
disappointed in the Colorado/Detroit series (or lack of it). Glad Ryan
Smyth played with a busted foot (it's what he does) however it was a lack of series. Theo choked, everyone got hurt, Wings swept. It might have been the last for Joe
Sakic. I think Colorado's attempt of reliving 2001 wasn't a good idea, it's
Forsberg out again (only longer).
Just give it up and go back to Sweden.
Ok, back to the cliche.
Game 4 was me at the Ye
Olde at the Main, by then I've
reconized the regulars who catches the game there. I had my usual burger and beer however wasn't feeling it.
Halak was good in nets, we still can't get the first goal. I was getting tired and left in the 3rd when things happen. Crap.
I forgot what it's like watching hockey this late in the season, already May and we're still playing. Viewer's fatigue is what I have, I think I may have used my
enthusiasm back in the 1st round. The lines keep changing, still no Ryder.
He's a lot useful than
Lapierre, you know. Wouldn't hurt to try.
Now back to the cliche:
Koivu will say something in that dressing room tonight and bring the spirits up to the young shaved headed guys. There will be a translation in French and Russian after (a good core of the team).
Carbo, always the optimist, puts Price back in. He knows how the Montreal system works, how fan and media can affect the confidence of any player, he had gone through the ringer many times. He, in theory, wants Price to one day finish his career in a Montreal
Canadiens sweater.
Kovalev leads by example as the young
Kostein bros and the others follow the flowing locks of his hair and his amazing stick work.
The Bell centre, all 21,022 fans will cheer with hearts on their sleeves and $9 beer in their bellies. Kids with painted faces and their homemade signs gazing at their heroes along with the real heroes who brought them here to take in the experience. Tonight is different than any other night, this is where the magic happens. It's a home game, anything can happen, new heroes, nothing determined, every minute counts, do or die. Doesn't matter if you've been a fan for 15 years or 15 minutes, every ounce of
confidence counts in helping the home team...
and just in case, we hope
Carbo wears the ugly tie tonight.
Go
Habs.