Summing up an awesome season, last playoff blog.
I guess the tie had a 3 win warranty.
Game 6 at the Ye Olde on the Main was sad and exciting all into one. Hoping that the magic of The Canadiens and every known playoff cliche would translate into a win, followed by another win and so forth...nope.
It was bad officiating and a hot goaltender that was our undoing. Price lost his confidence as he never played this much hardcore pressure cooking hockey before. Worn out mentally and psychically got to the kid. The reminder that he is only a kid, along with a 1/3 of the squad who had had their 1st taste of what is considered "real" hockey.
There is a however to all of this.
The Pittsburgh Penguins, now my new pick to win it all, last year half the team experience their first trip to the post season. Half the squad couldn't even drink legally, still is the case. Ousted in the 1st round, the following year they are now in the conference final in a battle against Philly. Montreal is in that same boat and can improve from what just happened...
or go backwards the way Ottawa did from finalist to disaster (knocking on wood here, not going to happen).
This is part of a master plan Bob Gainey has been working on since he became General Manager nearly 5 years ago. He's putting together pieces of a puzzle, driving fans crazy during trade deadlines and draft days wondering why he made that decision. Trust me, he's up to something. We can almost be there, a few tweaks here and there and we might have something awesome.
And we just had a taste of it.
This was a team touted to be in 13th and miss the playoffs, instead we finished 1st in the division and 3rd overall. Gainey definitely is up to something here.
Would be cool to see Crosby win it all, the Kid and his squad have a great system: scoring goals. Now if he can grow more than a bad high school moustache.
To sum up game 6, there was something in the air where everyone was a fan for the night. Outsiders peering into the bar window in glimpse of the TV, I'm screaming when we hit the cross bar or when Price is shaky as he stops the puck or lets an easy one in. We're all staring at the clock: we hold the lead we want time to run out or when we lose the lead we hopes there's enough time to come back. It was that kind of night where stats and luck battle it out. In the end, luck was on Philly's side, in the form of our scoring chances hitting the post every time. In last few seconds we knew it was all over.
Kind of sucks, however...
the season we had, seeing young kids play above the level, the comebacks and great saves, yes, they do deserve the recognition for playing exciting hockey. It has been a long time since I actually enjoy watching a Canadiens game. Not since I was 13 have I enjoyed watching the Habs, a very long time. I felt bad that Price cried and felt the weight of winning on his shoulders, not a cool thing to do to a kid. Rookies are not meant to carry franchises unless they are ready, we'll slowing doing that, slowly. The bar and at the Bell Centre, we all applauded, glad that these guys did and they repaid the gratitude by raising their sticks. As for the fans, time to put away your flag off the car, to go back to a normal life. Kind of glad as I don't think my liver would have survived the conference final, ow. I'm going to miss going to Ye Olde on the Main and seeing everyone excited over the home team. Applauding in thanks is what the real fans do, not burn cop cars and smash windows. Next season is the 100th year, the way things are going I think it's going to be a special memorable year.
But just in case, let's hope Mrs. Carboneau buys another ugly tie.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
The story so far...
- Cindy Lopez
- Montreal, Quebec, Canada
- Cindy is trying her best to make a career as a photographer and throws in her writing as a balance (as she did a degree in Creative Writing). Cindy may have this background however still wants to understand what makes people tick, have strange stories of their own and why is it so hard from them to order coffee (really, it's not that hard).
No comments:
Post a Comment