Saturday, May 3, 2008

Welcome to my Playoff Blog: So it comes down to a bad sports cliche

So it comes down to a bad sports cliche

I was afraid it would come down to this.
The Canadiens, the Eastern Conference champs, not even meant to have made the playoffs, the better on paper in comparison to Philly, down 3-1. There's a hint of cliche in the air, waiting for the Forum Ghosts to fulfill the prophecy based on the numbers, the time it has taken for any Canadian team to win the cup and of course, the centennial of the franchise itself.
Here it comes...
to come from behind, the team doing great however Biron is the problem. It is nearly impossible to stop a hot goalie unless one breaks his confidence. It has happened to Price, it was bound to happen. He is JUST a kid. There were never any expectations for Biron to do anything in the playoffs, he had been a journeyman stuck inbetween two hot goaltenders back in Buffalo (referring to Hasek and now Miller). The Flyers are tough and will do anything to clutter up the net and be very pesky about it.
Speaking of pesky, karma caught up on Sean Avery. Lacerated spleen, gone for the season. No more Mr Jackass.
Could someone tell Crosby to save his diving techniques for the pool and score. As for the beard, not getting any better.
I was a little disappointed in the Colorado/Detroit series (or lack of it). Glad Ryan Smyth played with a busted foot (it's what he does) however it was a lack of series. Theo choked, everyone got hurt, Wings swept. It might have been the last for Joe Sakic. I think Colorado's attempt of reliving 2001 wasn't a good idea, it's Forsberg out again (only longer).
Just give it up and go back to Sweden. Ok, back to the cliche.
Game 4 was me at the Ye Olde at the Main, by then I've reconized the regulars who catches the game there. I had my usual burger and beer however wasn't feeling it. Halak was good in nets, we still can't get the first goal. I was getting tired and left in the 3rd when things happen. Crap.
I forgot what it's like watching hockey this late in the season, already May and we're still playing. Viewer's fatigue is what I have, I think I may have used my enthusiasm back in the 1st round. The lines keep changing, still no Ryder.
He's a lot useful than Lapierre, you know. Wouldn't hurt to try.
Now back to the cliche: Koivu will say something in that dressing room tonight and bring the spirits up to the young shaved headed guys. There will be a translation in French and Russian after (a good core of the team). Carbo, always the optimist, puts Price back in. He knows how the Montreal system works, how fan and media can affect the confidence of any player, he had gone through the ringer many times. He, in theory, wants Price to one day finish his career in a Montreal Canadiens sweater.
Kovalev leads by example as the young Kostein bros and the others follow the flowing locks of his hair and his amazing stick work.
The Bell centre, all 21,022 fans will cheer with hearts on their sleeves and $9 beer in their bellies. Kids with painted faces and their homemade signs gazing at their heroes along with the real heroes who brought them here to take in the experience. Tonight is different than any other night, this is where the magic happens. It's a home game, anything can happen, new heroes, nothing determined, every minute counts, do or die. Doesn't matter if you've been a fan for 15 years or 15 minutes, every ounce of confidence counts in helping the home team...
and just in case, we hope Carbo wears the ugly tie tonight.
Go Habs.

No comments:

The story so far...

My photo
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Cindy is trying her best to make a career as a photographer and throws in her writing as a balance (as she did a degree in Creative Writing). Cindy may have this background however still wants to understand what makes people tick, have strange stories of their own and why is it so hard from them to order coffee (really, it's not that hard).