The city is brimming in bleu blanc et rouge in order to mask away the burn marks and shattered glass all over Ste Catherine. After what happened after Boston, the real fans must remember to show their true colors in order to avoid showing the shade of disgrace I stumbled on in front of Hatters last week. However, it's a whole new set of rules here. It's the second round, not intense as the first however each game is tougher.
I'm still following the philosophy of Coach Carboneau one game at a time, sure we beat Philly four times in the regular season however, like Boston, what the team did in the regular season doesn't matter at all. Playoffs are unsung heroes and legends in the making. Anyone can be the hero of the night and the villian the next. While writing this, we're in the mist of game 3, the Flyers all year have been villians holding the record for most suspensions. Yes, the Broad st Bullies are back and have unfinished business with the Habs.
We're down to 8 teams, loving the return of Colorado VS Detroit. Remembering how vicious the games can were back in the day, watching Patrick Roy beat the pulp out of either Mike Vernon or Chris Osgood (and reliving the legacy through his kid last month in a junior hockey game. Like hot headed father, like hot headed son). Theodore, remember when he played for us and was good, now fills those shoes again and isn't looking good against Detroit. I hope Colorado recovers, I don't want to see Ryan Symth cry. I went out about Symth for the longest time, gritty player who plays with heart and broken bones, he's bound to return to a final. Just don't make him cry.
Game 1 had me at the Ye Olde on the Main again, however feeling overwhelmed by certain things in my life, I did like Ryan Symth and cried and did my best to compose myself during the 1st period while down 2-0. Not a big fan of crying at the bar (especially during a playoff game) however I had one of those days. The bar staff were really kind to me, thanks for the concern, will be fine, it's life. I felt better with a pint in one hand and a tied up game in the third when Kovalev and his flowing blond locks save our asses again. A certain Greek sealed the deal 46 seconds later (and realising that in this blog, my spelling of last names, especially #6 of the Habs will be my undoing in spelling and punctuation).
How many Ks are on this team? I like Price, easy last name, one syllable.
Game 2 was a combination of The Veranda on St Dominque followed by The Ye Olde, the Depot crew were there taking over the back section of the Veranda with the couches and the big screen TV. My work mates would go to watch games there the last 2 years, the only time we're hanging out from work confines. Not that many places of employment do that, hang out and be friends outside the workplace. Even the customers were there, I ended up talking to a former Torontoian, who sees the difference in fan attitude. Montreal fans are loyal and treat the franchise as if it were a family member, concern when they're low and joyful when they're on a high. He was amazed how the female fans (they are more than in Toronto) are real fans and not because for their boyfriends. I got a good hand of that when I sprinted the one block over to Ye Olde to see my former editor in chief of The Concordian cheering and yelling at the TV (she only became a fan in the 1st round and already knew the rules and the names of players). I very quick learn, then we learned that Biron can be a pretty good goalie...except he plays for Philly.
In game 3 I was running late (and running to the bar). The city streets when it's game night are empty and silent, except for the sounds of bar partrons cheering and jeering when a shot is taken. The philly crowd was a sea of orange, booing the Canadian national anthem, unfazing the players (Steve Downie, you're a pest). Tensions brewing, gloves dropping, penalty after penalty. Price, still unfazed, even when watching an eight player pileup in his cease. However, he just let in 3 goals in 12 shots, Carbo did the right thing by replacing him with Halak in the 3rd. No damaging the Psyche of a goalie.
I'll say this once and for all, Price and just goaltending is not the key to an amazing playoff run. He is not going to fulfill the prophecy or walk on water (technically it is but frozen). Price is a full goaltender but ONLY 20 YEARS OLD. The game is different in the era of Dryden and Roy, Price has what it takes but putting all this pressure on the kid will eventually break the zen like state he's been playing and can let in more than 3 goals on 12 shots in game 3. Where is Markov in this series, are we ever going to let Ryder play again? I was pissed that they broke up the consistent line of Begin/Smolinksi/Kososopo... number 6! Damn Greek last names.
So, we're down 2-1. We played better, I don't think we need the ugly lucky tie, yet. I'm not worried yet, I'm enjoying that this is what brings people together. From hardcores to newbies, it's kind of cool that this is what packs bars (tip your waitress) and seeing people you don't get a chance to hang out with. The city is together watching, now the country too as the Canadiens are the only Canadian team left in the playoffs. It would be great if this would go a little bit further.
I guess we'll see what happens in game 4.
I guess we'll see what happens in game 4.

No comments:
Post a Comment