Wednesday, April 2, 2008

I'm either Wonder Woman or the Invisible Woman, take your pick

Finding out that people are reading this blog, I decided to dig up from the other place I write: my Facebook. We just finished (hopefully) a dreadful winter and hoping for new beginnings in Spring. Plus also an awesome playoff drive (go Habs) however this winter was tough. Been out of school and working in a job that's not my field. This was a first, dealing with an uncertainty that most students would feel however dealing with it becomes another story. Here's what happened under a heavy blanket a snow in hopes that this will never happen again:

Welcome to the middle of winter, the middle of the afternoon and weirdly enough, the middle of my 28dom (along side where I said the first 6 months post degree would be tricky). Well, was I ever right.Feeling so overwhelmed with idealism with a touch of "what the..." along with the coldness of reality (with a dash of melodrama). In short: I'm driving myself nuts. I guess I could say that a part of me feels like I should be saving the world and another part wishes to hide from it, hence the split personality straight from the comic pages. I'm now dealing with a different set of rules, a different set of eyes and yet, quite fed up of the usual. I'm a little strap for cash, imagination running on low, been tweaking other people's photos instead of mine, I really can't sleep. I'm up half the night thinking about the path I have taken, the powers I've been given (both a blessing and a curse), seeing if what I do does make a difference (I'm a big thinker, my dad would always catch me in my room in deep thought, can't help it, it's who I am). Yes, thinking about either the long run (am I going to grad school or getting a condo in the city) or short term (will I have enough money to leave town a lot). Been working and saving, helping and tweaking, no sleep, I need sleep. If I'm supposed to be a superhero then why are the bad guys still winning?
They are very tricky, charming with a side of sleaze. They know my strengths and weaknesses and go after my alter ego "latte girl" (yes, I do have a day job you know). However, that's it...feeling like the invisible woman, yes, I feel sad that my field of choice cannot give back to the ones that gave me these powers, I feel sad that I can't buy a house or see my other family because dreams don't pay the bills (right away). Sad that my limited equipment can only take me as far as I can go or how I'm busy working as "latte girl", photochick can't really come out and play as much. Can't go out in the cold, no fair, the bad guys are going out and winning. And then a minute later, guess who kicks in with a touch of rage and ambition...Wonder Woman to the rescue, can do it all, work, tweak, point and shoot (wishing I do have that lasso of truth for certain people). To make everyone look good, to make sure to listen and see if everyone is alright, to really put one's self out there (in all forms). Yee Ha!However, that goes away and guess who shows up again.
Man, I'm hoping this is a seasonal thing, hoping it has nothing to do with the whole no school thing, no school can be a good thing (for some). I can't be in school for the rest of my life (or work as "latte girl").You know what, I'm having a super identity crisis. Think, think, think.Well first thing, get some sleep. Sleep first, then figure out how to save the world, I think I want to be a fully recharged Wonder Woman (besides, I like the boots). However, photochick suits me better. Let's see how the other end of 28dom goes for our heroine.

No comments:

The story so far...

My photo
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Cindy is trying her best to make a career as a photographer and throws in her writing as a balance (as she did a degree in Creative Writing). Cindy may have this background however still wants to understand what makes people tick, have strange stories of their own and why is it so hard from them to order coffee (really, it's not that hard).