Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Welcome to my Playoff Blog: Game on Situations

Game on situations

So the Habs are playing game 5 tonight where 2 things may happen:1) They can win it and move on to a picture perfect happy ending and get ready for more or2) the situation that won't be mentioned.Seems that the Bruins didn't follow the script in game 4 and improvised their way into an overtime win. Also, it had been a year and a bit since they last beat us, talk about getting that out of the way. Ouch! I was more reacting to my knees, they feel like when Cam Neely used to play, in such pain it hurts to even sit. So it's time to recap what has happened so far it the 1st 3 games of the 1st round. Both Mtl and Calgary are up 2-1 while Ottawa should be sent off to a field and put out of their misery. Ottawa had the one line, that's it, the one line and now without their big guns firing we might as well have the 1994 Senators in the lineup. Does anyone remember how bad the Sens once were, with the likes of Daigle the pretty boy who couldn't score and Yashin the biggest asshole in the League. The result: 10 win seasons. As I'm writing this, Ottawa is getting ready to rebuild, not without a stiff drink first. More for the fans.As for Calgary, fist of fury, Iggy pissed off and taking it out on the coaching staff after blowing the lead in game 4. Rule of conduct, you don't want to mess with a pissed off Iggy.My game 1 started at the bar, Ye Olde Orchard on the Main, the bar packed an hour before game time. It had been great having an Irish bar to go along with my Portuguese chicken, my free coffee and the many people I run into in that radius. The excitement in the air as there's a new excuse to get drunk and wave a flag around (car permitting).Game 2 was a playoff/birthday party so running late I caught the 1st period at one bar then trekked to my destination. Missing the 2nd I popped my head in a bar when a total stranger on the street told me the score. I love this city and their enthusiasm.To the guy who gave my friend the inflatable sticks people hit at games and events as a birthday gift: You're aware he's hyper and maybe not a good idea.Throughout the series I noticed a good chunk of the Habs have shaved their heads. Traditionally it's the bearded look however the Habs found a new superstition by not getting a haircut either. I hope not showering is not a requirement. BTW, don't shave Kovalev's hair, it's what's giving him his powers.Points of Observation so far in the Playoffs: 1) Crosby and Ovechin: both are major highlight reel and business wise would be the greatest match up. It would be great however if Crosby can grow a beard, Ovechin in his first taste of playoff hockey grew that in a day. Crosby on the other hand, I've seen better facial hair off 15 year olds.2) It's not exciting in the West than the East, Detroit is great but will choke in the first (slowly happening). Ducks VS Stars, yeah...remember we had a Duck Cup last year, not going to happen again. Calgary is someone I want to see go far to avoid further boredom. That's how the West wins Cups, like listening to a John McCain speech. The better teams all missed the playoffs, word to the wise to Vancouver and Edmonton: free agency. In game 3 I returned to the Ye on the Main, with a posse. The crowd was bare as we were worn out by Kovalev's OT goal the night before, we forgot it was a back to back game. As did Montreal as they lost. Yes, they can lose too. Note to self: change lineup of people I watch games with. I can be superstitious too, there are people this past season I enjoy watching games with and others, well, there's a lost. For game 4, 2 situations may happened: 3-1 Habs or 2-2. Thomas and the Bruins had nothing to lose, they were meant to lose so that's where the confidence is coming from. Meanwhile, where's Higgins, Ryder keeps missing the net (he was a healthy scratch, I've been defending your ass all season). Luckily Price, good old Price, soulness too cool for comfort Price was having a great series. His soul is on the ice, save after save (only 20 years old to remind you). He did us quite a favor as each time the Bruins headed towards us, great save. I'm still in the awe and shock that Brisbois is having a great playoff, or the fact he scored in game 4. Not surprised with Smolinksi or Begin but remember Brisbois when he played here the 1st time?So game 5, going to the Ye Olde Downtown, just in case if there's a party on the street later. It's been fun so far, I don't want to get too excited, an overexcited fan is something you see over in Leafs Nation.And when was the last time they were the favorites to win (a cup)?

No comments:

The story so far...

My photo
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Cindy is trying her best to make a career as a photographer and throws in her writing as a balance (as she did a degree in Creative Writing). Cindy may have this background however still wants to understand what makes people tick, have strange stories of their own and why is it so hard from them to order coffee (really, it's not that hard).