Wednesday, April 30, 2008

Welcome to my Playoff Blog: Welcome to the 2nd Round, No F**king Around

Welcome to the 2nd Round, No F**king Around

The city is brimming in bleu blanc et rouge in order to mask away the burn marks and shattered glass all over Ste Catherine. After what happened after Boston, the real fans must remember to show their true colors in order to avoid showing the shade of disgrace I stumbled on in front of Hatters last week. However, it's a whole new set of rules here. It's the second round, not intense as the first however each game is tougher.
I'm still following the philosophy of Coach Carboneau one game at a time, sure we beat Philly four times in the regular season however, like Boston, what the team did in the regular season doesn't matter at all. Playoffs are unsung heroes and legends in the making. Anyone can be the hero of the night and the villian the next. While writing this, we're in the mist of game 3, the Flyers all year have been villians holding the record for most suspensions. Yes, the Broad st Bullies are back and have unfinished business with the Habs.
We're down to 8 teams, loving the return of Colorado VS Detroit. Remembering how vicious the games can were back in the day, watching Patrick Roy beat the pulp out of either Mike Vernon or Chris Osgood (and reliving the legacy through his kid last month in a junior hockey game. Like hot headed father, like hot headed son). Theodore, remember when he played for us and was good, now fills those shoes again and isn't looking good against Detroit. I hope Colorado recovers, I don't want to see Ryan Symth cry. I went out about Symth for the longest time, gritty player who plays with heart and broken bones, he's bound to return to a final. Just don't make him cry.
Game 1 had me at the Ye Olde on the Main again, however feeling overwhelmed by certain things in my life, I did like Ryan Symth and cried and did my best to compose myself during the 1st period while down 2-0. Not a big fan of crying at the bar (especially during a playoff game) however I had one of those days. The bar staff were really kind to me, thanks for the concern, will be fine, it's life. I felt better with a pint in one hand and a tied up game in the third when Kovalev and his flowing blond locks save our asses again. A certain Greek sealed the deal 46 seconds later (and realising that in this blog, my spelling of last names, especially #6 of the Habs will be my undoing in spelling and punctuation).
How many Ks are on this team? I like Price, easy last name, one syllable.
Game 2 was a combination of The Veranda on St Dominque followed by The Ye Olde, the Depot crew were there taking over the back section of the Veranda with the couches and the big screen TV. My work mates would go to watch games there the last 2 years, the only time we're hanging out from work confines. Not that many places of employment do that, hang out and be friends outside the workplace. Even the customers were there, I ended up talking to a former Torontoian, who sees the difference in fan attitude. Montreal fans are loyal and treat the franchise as if it were a family member, concern when they're low and joyful when they're on a high. He was amazed how the female fans (they are more than in Toronto) are real fans and not because for their boyfriends. I got a good hand of that when I sprinted the one block over to Ye Olde to see my former editor in chief of The Concordian cheering and yelling at the TV (she only became a fan in the 1st round and already knew the rules and the names of players). I very quick learn, then we learned that Biron can be a pretty good goalie...except he plays for Philly.
In game 3 I was running late (and running to the bar). The city streets when it's game night are empty and silent, except for the sounds of bar partrons cheering and jeering when a shot is taken. The philly crowd was a sea of orange, booing the Canadian national anthem, unfazing the players (Steve Downie, you're a pest). Tensions brewing, gloves dropping, penalty after penalty. Price, still unfazed, even when watching an eight player pileup in his cease. However, he just let in 3 goals in 12 shots, Carbo did the right thing by replacing him with Halak in the 3rd. No damaging the Psyche of a goalie.
I'll say this once and for all, Price and just goaltending is not the key to an amazing playoff run. He is not going to fulfill the prophecy or walk on water (technically it is but frozen). Price is a full goaltender but ONLY 20 YEARS OLD. The game is different in the era of Dryden and Roy, Price has what it takes but putting all this pressure on the kid will eventually break the zen like state he's been playing and can let in more than 3 goals on 12 shots in game 3. Where is Markov in this series, are we ever going to let Ryder play again? I was pissed that they broke up the consistent line of Begin/Smolinksi/Kososopo... number 6! Damn Greek last names.
So, we're down 2-1. We played better, I don't think we need the ugly lucky tie, yet. I'm not worried yet, I'm enjoying that this is what brings people together. From hardcores to newbies, it's kind of cool that this is what packs bars (tip your waitress) and seeing people you don't get a chance to hang out with. The city is together watching, now the country too as the Canadiens are the only Canadian team left in the playoffs. It would be great if this would go a little bit further.
I guess we'll see what happens in game 4.

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Welcome to my Playoff Blog: It's only the 1st Round!

It's only the 1st Round!

Congratulations to the Montreal Canadiens on recovering and playing like the team that won the division championships. Thanks for the exciting blowout of 5-0 and showing that this team can handle the pressure. Also, congrats on the fans on making a complete ass of themselves and the reputation of the team and the city itself by torching cars and breaking windows. We've now given more fuel to the Leaf Nation's fire.
Sure, they celebrate 1st rounds like it were Stanley Cup Finals, at least they know not to RIOT in the 1st round.
IT'S ONLY THE 1ST ROUND as I yelled this at a fan who was being hauled by two cops on my way home. REALLY, sounding like a mother who had been biting her lip for too long watching her kid do something stupid to the point it starts to bleed and can't contain her words any longer. This really spoiled already an amazing night.
We have to acquire more guys who's last name starts with K.
My night started at Ye Olde on The Main with a posse from The Concordian newspaper and the usual I normally watch the games with. There was an energy in the back section, screaming at the TV and gulping beer that isn't Molson. I held in my excitement (in between screaming in fear whenever the puck was in our zone, I know it doesn't help, defense does). I fully concentrated until the last 5 minutes in the 3rd period. That's when I pumped my arms up in the air and woo hooed till the clock ran out. That was a close one.
Now we wait for tonight's game (Philly or Washington, take your pick). Meanwhile Calgary will be doing the same thing as us, only without the riot.
I went by my Cafe Depot job to find the crew I work and watch the games with, I found them outside waving a Belarus flag. This is in regards to the Kostiyn brothers who have been amazing this past game 7. Off we went, flag, confused people and all, down to Ste Catherine to see the celebrations. At first we were seeing the good fans, flags on cars and jerseys. All was good until we saw the riot cops, then we knew that this was one of those situations. Or so we thought. I thought the cops were there to contain the excitement, not realising what had been having in the last 20 minutes.
Myself and the Depot crew had a cheap pitcher of Ex and a couple shots, then met some Ukrainians who recognized the flag of Belarus. This is what I love about playoffs, everyone is united about the love of the team, the excitement of victory and the positives it brings to the city. Not quite, you got to remember that there's a lot of beer involve. Beer can equal stupid. There was the drunk girl at the bar, the glasses that hit the ground, the one Bruin fan sitting at Peel Pub, this was small potatoes to me until I headed home. The guys with the Belarus flag headed back to the Main.
I don't normally hang out downtown, more of a Main girl however I loitered for a little bit as I was full of cheap beer and wobbled on my bike. There were the fans that were partying on the street still, playing in Tam Tam like demeanor, cars honking. No harm, then the riot cops again. I hit Crescent and noticed the smoke and smell of gasoline. I headed up knowing that my curiosity would have consequences. I looked on as I saw 7 people destroy a cop car right in front of MadHatters (not surprised that it was in front of Hatters). They were throwing rocks and stomping on the hood. A guy next to me mentioned that this had been happened in the last hour, cop cars being torched, store windows shattered.
But, this is ONLY the 1st round, who are these people?
I've been picky about the fans of late, there are the hardcore, the ones that know the history, the fair weather fans that have their flag on the cars and tin foil cups. What happened that night were the killjoys, no respect, an excuse to destroy things just because we normally riot come the final. Someone jumped the gun and went too damn far. This makes the team, the fans, the city look bad. Pissing off the legends of the game who would win the cup every year, yep, you pissed off Jean Belivieu;
you don't want to piss off Jean Belivieu.
I ducked to another bar to avoid rocks hitting my head. Watching the crowd run down Bishop as the riot cops were not too far behind. This was the only time I didn't have my camera, was pissed drunk and pissed at myself for being a bad photog. I've been lately frustrated on where my photo has been going, stuck as of late however I will get to that another time. More angry as this is only the 1st round, this is a distraction, this can cause more harm than it already has. What happens if we make it past 2nd round, what are the cops going to do? What about the good fans, it leaves a big mark knowing that there are the drunken killjoys (like the ones in English soccer), do we have to resort to new tactics. When did a hockey game turn into turmoil, I don't know but I know for one thing, it's sitting on the minds of the players come the 2nd round. The team had restored their focus, what's going to happen now?

Welcome to my Playoff Blog: It comes down to Game 7

It Comes down to Game 7

I was afraid this might happen. As of 7pm tonight, Montreal will either see their Habs play possibly the biggest playoff game of their lives or simply kiss their amazing season goodbye. Told you never underestimate the underdog, Thomas and Boston have been playing possibly the most cookie cutter of game plans yet it has been working. They have been winning. The habs are not playing a most confident game, it showed in game 6 however it was the momentum of another Koivu comeback that did the trick. Game 5 is when we realise that yes, even if Price is cold and unemotional, he can lose his confidence easily. Yes, we got to remember that Price is a goalie, not god. It doesn't take stopping pucks to reach the promiseland (referring to the mediocre power play this series). Yes, Price is one of a kind but remember that he's only 20 years old, most goalies don't mature till 24. Also, additional pressure and expectations= god complex. If he is a second coming of Patrick Roy, ease on the expectations or else we're going to create another arrogant asshole who can stop pucks. I would like to give shit to the bandwagoning that has been occurring in the last two weeks, seriously, if you did care for the team you would have:
watch at least a couple of the regualr season games
recalled the Rejean Houle years (post Patrick Roy, pre Huet) and how each coach we hired had little experience in the NHL. Carbo is the exception as he's played, been assistant and eased into the system.
Know who the Hell Bryan Heyward is
I know it's all new to some however if you are not a real fan, might as well be a Leafs fan. Put away your tin foil cup and pay attention. Seriously, lose the flag (it's very Bloor st, not Ste Catherine). By Tuesday, if things don't go the way it should (knock on wood) well, it's one less drinking day for you.
Pittsburgh finally put Ottawa out of their misery a few days ago. Ouch! While Crosby and the gang heal and try to work on their ill attempt at a playoff beard, Ottawa is trying to get rid of one in the form of Ray Emery. Meanwhile, The Rangers are in, Avery is the guy you want to hate. In the west, Detroit's in (but won't win the Cup), Dallas (thank you, no Duck cup, what a waste of supposive retirement) and Colorado (Theo has been put back together after what we did to him in MTL).
Hoping Calgary can pull off something here, Calgary runs are fun to watch. With the Red Mile, thousands of red jerseys in the stands and Harvey the Hound (a real mascot, sorry Youpii, you're still baseball in my heart) what is there not to hate. Well, they tend to exit early.
Game 5 was an event for me, went by the Bell Centre to check out the mayhem. There was pick up hockey in the parking lot followed by getting picked up by sleazy Torontians posing as Hab fans, who would later on ask me where the nearest sex club was (not strip club, they wanted to have anal sex in the city). Yep, going to run to the bar...now. Packed it was downtown, I rushed back to Ye Olde, also packed.
If you want to know what the true meaning of losing one's confidence is when Price let go of the puck and it rolled in. Think of that the next time you lose your confidence, it hurts like hell.
Game 6 was another party, road trip. The year end Concordian newspaper party where we were well fed (thanks). Also, while waiting, we endured the craziest 11 minutes as MTL and Boston held the lead every 2 minutes. Higgins came back to life, hey, Buillion came back too. However, it wasn't enough. So, what is anticipated in game 7, for starters, where the Hell is Ryder? It's going to be someone who hasn't done anything yet to step it up. I think that's what's going to happen, also lots of fights. I'm just calling it as it is. So this is it, one game, one outcome (cue in cliches). It would be great to make it to the next round however one game at a time. This could be the last game.

Welcome to my Playoff Blog: Game on Situations

Game on situations

So the Habs are playing game 5 tonight where 2 things may happen:1) They can win it and move on to a picture perfect happy ending and get ready for more or2) the situation that won't be mentioned.Seems that the Bruins didn't follow the script in game 4 and improvised their way into an overtime win. Also, it had been a year and a bit since they last beat us, talk about getting that out of the way. Ouch! I was more reacting to my knees, they feel like when Cam Neely used to play, in such pain it hurts to even sit. So it's time to recap what has happened so far it the 1st 3 games of the 1st round. Both Mtl and Calgary are up 2-1 while Ottawa should be sent off to a field and put out of their misery. Ottawa had the one line, that's it, the one line and now without their big guns firing we might as well have the 1994 Senators in the lineup. Does anyone remember how bad the Sens once were, with the likes of Daigle the pretty boy who couldn't score and Yashin the biggest asshole in the League. The result: 10 win seasons. As I'm writing this, Ottawa is getting ready to rebuild, not without a stiff drink first. More for the fans.As for Calgary, fist of fury, Iggy pissed off and taking it out on the coaching staff after blowing the lead in game 4. Rule of conduct, you don't want to mess with a pissed off Iggy.My game 1 started at the bar, Ye Olde Orchard on the Main, the bar packed an hour before game time. It had been great having an Irish bar to go along with my Portuguese chicken, my free coffee and the many people I run into in that radius. The excitement in the air as there's a new excuse to get drunk and wave a flag around (car permitting).Game 2 was a playoff/birthday party so running late I caught the 1st period at one bar then trekked to my destination. Missing the 2nd I popped my head in a bar when a total stranger on the street told me the score. I love this city and their enthusiasm.To the guy who gave my friend the inflatable sticks people hit at games and events as a birthday gift: You're aware he's hyper and maybe not a good idea.Throughout the series I noticed a good chunk of the Habs have shaved their heads. Traditionally it's the bearded look however the Habs found a new superstition by not getting a haircut either. I hope not showering is not a requirement. BTW, don't shave Kovalev's hair, it's what's giving him his powers.Points of Observation so far in the Playoffs: 1) Crosby and Ovechin: both are major highlight reel and business wise would be the greatest match up. It would be great however if Crosby can grow a beard, Ovechin in his first taste of playoff hockey grew that in a day. Crosby on the other hand, I've seen better facial hair off 15 year olds.2) It's not exciting in the West than the East, Detroit is great but will choke in the first (slowly happening). Ducks VS Stars, yeah...remember we had a Duck Cup last year, not going to happen again. Calgary is someone I want to see go far to avoid further boredom. That's how the West wins Cups, like listening to a John McCain speech. The better teams all missed the playoffs, word to the wise to Vancouver and Edmonton: free agency. In game 3 I returned to the Ye on the Main, with a posse. The crowd was bare as we were worn out by Kovalev's OT goal the night before, we forgot it was a back to back game. As did Montreal as they lost. Yes, they can lose too. Note to self: change lineup of people I watch games with. I can be superstitious too, there are people this past season I enjoy watching games with and others, well, there's a lost. For game 4, 2 situations may happened: 3-1 Habs or 2-2. Thomas and the Bruins had nothing to lose, they were meant to lose so that's where the confidence is coming from. Meanwhile, where's Higgins, Ryder keeps missing the net (he was a healthy scratch, I've been defending your ass all season). Luckily Price, good old Price, soulness too cool for comfort Price was having a great series. His soul is on the ice, save after save (only 20 years old to remind you). He did us quite a favor as each time the Bruins headed towards us, great save. I'm still in the awe and shock that Brisbois is having a great playoff, or the fact he scored in game 4. Not surprised with Smolinksi or Begin but remember Brisbois when he played here the 1st time?So game 5, going to the Ye Olde Downtown, just in case if there's a party on the street later. It's been fun so far, I don't want to get too excited, an overexcited fan is something you see over in Leafs Nation.And when was the last time they were the favorites to win (a cup)?

Welcome to my Playoff Blog: Welcome to the 1st round

As the 2nd round approaches, I decided to write a playoff blog as it seem suitable in the city I live in. I've been a Montreal Canadiens fan since I was 13, the year we won the cup. This year the team is in healthy contention and could be Canada's hope in bringing Lord Stanley back to where it truly belongs: above the 49th parallel. Here now are blogs I wrote during the 1st round, detailing fan observation and quirky events from Montreal's roller coaster 1st round.

Welcome to the 1st Round

Yes, it's finally here. After 82 games (the same number of snowstorms we had all winter) it's playoff time. That time of year where the next couple months of hockey does matter, the 82 games were just a really long practice. Whether you finished first or squeaked into the final spot on the last day, it doesn't matter. What matters is now, what happens one playoff game at a time.This is the best time of year not only hockey wise but if you last looked out the window, the sky looks brighter, we see hints of green and we watch our steps as we just saw what the dog did last February. The stress and grind of school and work doesn't matter much as we take our drinks outside with open clothes and layers of our former selves are revealed and doesn't matter. Yes, a fresh start, time to shine. Welcome to the 1st round.As told by the geniuses of Hockey Night in Canada (as they scramble to focus more on Canadiens games because of the backlash of nothing but Leafs hockey, Hell, I would rather spend the season watching the Flames) the 1st round is the exciting round. It is also the hardest and toughest. Just because we beat Boston 7 times this season (and hold a better playoff record of 27-4 lifetime) won't make this a cakewalk. Same goes with the rest of the Canadian squad in this, Ottawa may be vulnerable in the last while however, this is a clean slate. Same goes with Calgary, which I wish I knew what they were up to all season however the East conference was wild and crazy than the conservative West (Washington was 9th two days before the end, they're now #3). The city is wide awake with the annoying flags on cars (this is what they do in Leafs Nation, kind of tacky, remember they haven't won in over 40 years). Everyone in either Bleu, Blanc or Rouge. Little kids with painted faces wearing jerseys more expensive than the last pair of jeans I bought. Bars filled to capacity, drunk off excitement and beer (don't forget to tip your waitress properly, especially my sister). Something about the playoffs brings a revival to everyone who has been cooped up all winter. Maybe it's spring, ending a tough cycle. It could be a lot of things however it's a great time to be outside and to watch some REAL hockey.Welcome to the 1st round. Go Habs.

Wednesday, April 2, 2008

I'm either Wonder Woman or the Invisible Woman, take your pick

Finding out that people are reading this blog, I decided to dig up from the other place I write: my Facebook. We just finished (hopefully) a dreadful winter and hoping for new beginnings in Spring. Plus also an awesome playoff drive (go Habs) however this winter was tough. Been out of school and working in a job that's not my field. This was a first, dealing with an uncertainty that most students would feel however dealing with it becomes another story. Here's what happened under a heavy blanket a snow in hopes that this will never happen again:

Welcome to the middle of winter, the middle of the afternoon and weirdly enough, the middle of my 28dom (along side where I said the first 6 months post degree would be tricky). Well, was I ever right.Feeling so overwhelmed with idealism with a touch of "what the..." along with the coldness of reality (with a dash of melodrama). In short: I'm driving myself nuts. I guess I could say that a part of me feels like I should be saving the world and another part wishes to hide from it, hence the split personality straight from the comic pages. I'm now dealing with a different set of rules, a different set of eyes and yet, quite fed up of the usual. I'm a little strap for cash, imagination running on low, been tweaking other people's photos instead of mine, I really can't sleep. I'm up half the night thinking about the path I have taken, the powers I've been given (both a blessing and a curse), seeing if what I do does make a difference (I'm a big thinker, my dad would always catch me in my room in deep thought, can't help it, it's who I am). Yes, thinking about either the long run (am I going to grad school or getting a condo in the city) or short term (will I have enough money to leave town a lot). Been working and saving, helping and tweaking, no sleep, I need sleep. If I'm supposed to be a superhero then why are the bad guys still winning?
They are very tricky, charming with a side of sleaze. They know my strengths and weaknesses and go after my alter ego "latte girl" (yes, I do have a day job you know). However, that's it...feeling like the invisible woman, yes, I feel sad that my field of choice cannot give back to the ones that gave me these powers, I feel sad that I can't buy a house or see my other family because dreams don't pay the bills (right away). Sad that my limited equipment can only take me as far as I can go or how I'm busy working as "latte girl", photochick can't really come out and play as much. Can't go out in the cold, no fair, the bad guys are going out and winning. And then a minute later, guess who kicks in with a touch of rage and ambition...Wonder Woman to the rescue, can do it all, work, tweak, point and shoot (wishing I do have that lasso of truth for certain people). To make everyone look good, to make sure to listen and see if everyone is alright, to really put one's self out there (in all forms). Yee Ha!However, that goes away and guess who shows up again.
Man, I'm hoping this is a seasonal thing, hoping it has nothing to do with the whole no school thing, no school can be a good thing (for some). I can't be in school for the rest of my life (or work as "latte girl").You know what, I'm having a super identity crisis. Think, think, think.Well first thing, get some sleep. Sleep first, then figure out how to save the world, I think I want to be a fully recharged Wonder Woman (besides, I like the boots). However, photochick suits me better. Let's see how the other end of 28dom goes for our heroine.

The story so far...

My photo
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Cindy is trying her best to make a career as a photographer and throws in her writing as a balance (as she did a degree in Creative Writing). Cindy may have this background however still wants to understand what makes people tick, have strange stories of their own and why is it so hard from them to order coffee (really, it's not that hard).