Monday, May 18, 2009

Cindy's (shorten) playoff blog

It's that time of year again...
yes, I know it's the Conference final, the 2009 NHL playoffs started a month ago, my Canadiens ousted in 4 games and the Penguins (with an even sleazier Sidney Crosby moustache) are in the final four. This is the shorten version of the playoff blog because:
1) My home team has been long gone, gone before even qualifying
2) I really needed to think about this
The 2008-09 Montreal Canadiens had high expectations this past season, it was the centennial of the franchise. History and perfection were being sought for a franchise that were slowly inching towards being true contenders.
However...
things do happen. Hockey is like real life, things don't always pan out.
We had a great start then injuries and politics played a role. Fans in Montreal are finicky bastards who claim they can be better management than Bob Gainey.
However, can some Joe Shmoe run a franchise better than a man who has won 6 Stanley cups as a player and a gm. Can Joe Shmoe talk sense into a bunch of Russians. Can Joe Shmoe convince the star goaltender that things will be fine rather than threaten to trade the entire squad?
When the chips are down, the fans become impatient. This is where I hate being a Montreal fan. Being a Habs fan is like being in a roller coaster relationship: you're going to have to support and deal with it and not give up on it. It's work it in the long run, there are bumps on the road.
Last I checked, you can't trade your boyfriend, sometimes you wish to but you can't.
There were high points after the Kovalev drama, the Kostisyn's gangster incident and the loss of Carbo the awesome coach (who knew from day 1 of the pressures of being in the Montreal lineup). There is a reason why French Canadian players don't want to play here: they're not the Rocket or Beliveau or Lafleur. No French player can handle the expectations. It's understandable.
The high points were that the squad starting to win, look like how they were at the beginning of the season. They were healthy, they were in form under Gainey's reign they...
lost both Scheider and Markov with under 5 games to go. Oh no.
We lost the last set of games, an overtime loss gave us the point to squeeze into the 8th spot. And worse, we would play Boston, the reversal of roles from the season before. Boston was strong in scoring, defense, goaltending and yes, Michael Ryder wanting his revenge after being unloaded by Les Glorieux.
Game 1: Was at Hatter's in the heart of downtown with friends and 7 pitchers. The rule of thumb in the playoffs is to show up to the bar earlier. The game was great, the Habs looked good, but Boston played great.
This is where 7 pitchers does come in handy.
Game 2: My friend's house in the suburbs. The setup looked like a little hockey shrine, I'm always the only girl watching the games. Beer and pizza (made with halal meat) and a blowout.
Wondering if they will pulled Price for Halak. At least there was Halal.
Game 3: went back to Ye Olde on the Main where I watched them win back in the day (like 6 months before). Beer and chips, still the chips were down for Price. Come on, we can't get swept.
Game 4: I went with a friend to the fan zone, the atmosphere alive in bleu blanc rouge. You can smell the history, the 24 Stanley cups in the air. The time of year where hockey matters and anyone can be the hero each game. Guys that play hurt and broken because this can be their last game. We went to McKibbin's for a last meal (it was a deluxe burger, it felt like I was going on death row) and of course, beer.
The Canadien's played the best hockey in game 4 and had the lead...for 12 minutes. Then got blown away. The fans, god damn you fans, were booing Price, it's always picking on Price. Wanting another Dryden, another Roy. But Price is neither of them, he is a 21 year old finding his way. He lifts his arms up in the air stating "ENOUGH!" Enough of the scrutiny, enough of the past, this is now, this is the Montreal Canadiens of today. The NHL is not how it was in Beliveau's day, Roy's day, not even 2 years ago. We don't know what these teams are like if the results will happen in the long run or in the short run. Price has shown that he is a capable goaltender, goaltenders don't truly develop until a few years in the league. Mentality is key, 21 000 fans booing the crap out of you doesn't really build confidence. Patrick Roy, yes, but then again, he hated to lose. Maybe we've seen the glimmer of this in the arms but in time, ease up on the expectations.
Cut to now...
The best series so far was the Washington/Pittsburgh series. Crosby vs Ovechkin. Who's the better player, Ovechkin can score goals, Crosby can shoot goals, play defense, lead the team. Hmm, I think the slap in the face was in game 7 when Ovechkin lost the puck on a giveaway and Crosby takes it away on a breakaway to seal the fate of the Capitals.
Crosby can now extend his attempt at facial hair for another week.
So it's down to 4, in the west it's the best of the Original 6 (Detroit/Chicago) while in the east it's a family affair (Pittsburgh/Carolina each have a Staal brother). It could be a rematch of last year's final or a battle of young guns or a dynasty in the making.
Either way, it's great hockey and yes, there will be beer.

No comments:

The story so far...

My photo
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Cindy is trying her best to make a career as a photographer and throws in her writing as a balance (as she did a degree in Creative Writing). Cindy may have this background however still wants to understand what makes people tick, have strange stories of their own and why is it so hard from them to order coffee (really, it's not that hard).