Tuesday, November 3, 2009

What I Got Out of Women's Rugby

The season continues this week for the Concordia Women's rugby team however I'm done for the season. They're off to Nationals in Vancouver, congrats to them for a season hard fought. A majority of the fall sports at Concordia have finished their seasons, soccer is done, the men's rugby team were eliminated the week before and it will take a miracle for the football team to beat Laval in another rematch (the last time the score exceeded more than 50 points for Laval to defeat Concordia). So how do I know all of this? I've taken on the role of "saving the sports section" each week for over the last month.
I usually have two sports photographers with telephoto lens who can do this however the one thing each don't have: time. There was wedding season to deal with at first and the other one was working and doing school. The other thing was that I had one guy who said would shoot sports however it meant that he wanted football and nothing else, somehow the rest of sports didn't matter to the "so called" sports photographer. So every Friday I ended up saving the sports. I own a portrait lens (85mm 1.8) which meant I can shoot at night with few complications however I lacked in range. I knew little about sports, I love watching them however sports photography is the most challenging out of press photography. So this was going to be a hard task, to pull off decent shots with what I got.
I've learned that soccer is quite a hard sport to shoot, there goes my chances at World Cup. Also, they were my casualty of a sports injury (as the men scored and celebrated by running me down). This happens when I shoot sports, I will get a sports related injury. We also had the preseason of hockey and basketball, where I get a chance to warm up and eat a hot dog. The other thing I learned is that the beer is cheap and is the only way to drink on the Loyola campus, for four dollars you get beer and sports.
Rugby became my favorite not because their teams were the better out of the ones I've shot, it was because it was the least challenging and most entertaining. Rugby is like football but with no pads, not real rules and the least likely to get injured (on my behalf). Both the men and women's squads in combination only lost three games. The women only lost one, to Laval.
All rugby games were at night and as the weeks go by, it got colder and darker but their drive grew harder and heated. I mainly shot the women, there was one game that was my turning point, the Dummond Cup against McGill. The Dummond Cup was started in dedication to Kelly Ann Dummond; a former Concordia rugby player who unfortunately was murdered by her boyfriend about five years ago. A girl I served at my day job recognized me from the game and told me she was a team mate of Kelly's, she would go to the Cup each year. Kelly's mom gave the trophy to the Stinger girls this year, a first win out of the years of the Cup.
To see such drive when one minute you see a girl get knocked down, winded and in pain, to see the med staff getting ready while in the next minute you see that same girl shake it off and get ready to be part of the next play. I've never seen so many hardcore girls running, grabbing or in this one case, a "head butt to the gut" on the opposing girl. Each week with a small crowd of friends and players boyfriends I think that there is a reason to keep coming to Loyola field. They only lost once, this was their best team in years. In the semi final against Ottawa, Ottawa held the lead by two points, then Concordia made a play for a kick. I've never seen them lose in the games I've shot, there was no way this starts. The final score was 18-7, finals here they come.
I gave up a day of work and trekked to Ste-Foy last Saturday, they were going to play Laval for the second year in a row. Last year the Stingers loss in a heartbreaker, the score was even however Concordia had more kicks than Laval but in a final kicks aren't worth anything. This was the rematch they wanted. It was also a day game, because Laval doesn't have lights in their field, the game started at 1pm instead than at night. So, there will be no lighting problems on this day. However, it was raining so break out the plastic covering.
I basically was living out some sports cliches here, it was my first final, the women were out for redemption, some of the men's team were there cheering for the ladies (all painted and drunk). Laval fans were loud and offensive, there was always some lone token flag guy sitting in the visitors section yelling every 2 minutes "Go Laval". He was quiet when Concordia lead 3-0 with a kick. The rain hit hard, the ladies hit harder, it was hard to see, the ball kept slipping while the girls kept sliding. All the ladies had to do was hold the lead, that's in and that's all. Laval on the other hand, didn't want to lose on home turf and tied the game up in extra time of the second half. The Stinger girls on the sidelines were pissed off, it wasn't their day when it came to the officiating. Overtime here we come, the rain tapered off so now we can see better.
Rugby girls and photographers share some things in common: to tough out the worst of conditions and keep their eye on the prize. I was looking for some good photo opts while they were looking for the ball. We were cold, wet and tired, will this game end? First overtime ended, if they remain scoreless after the second it will go into kicks. Luckily, Concordia kicked in the second and won the game. The emotions were everywhere, all hearts and heartbreak. On this day, a kick was worth the prize.
Strangely enough, the rain stopped.
We all ran on the field, girls getting their medals and holding back tears (both happy and sad), a majority of the all star players were Laval girls, holding a fake smile while we took their photos (the feeling of disappointment that the public had to endure). The trophy came on the field, the women huddled up and held it high to the sky, the rain held off for them as they celebrated a hard earned win. They're off to represent Quebec at the National rugby championships in Vancouver, because of a student newspaper budget myself and my writer cannot go and continue the streak. It would have been amazing, the national level. Alas, I guess I'll wait for the next team I have to save sports in.
This was a first, I rarely shoot sports but a majority of my month was sports photography, I understand it's as challenging as other forms. I hate how it gets under minded as a "jock thing", there are stories behind every play, these girls are students, have patient loved ones, sacrificing a lot for a moment like this. They're tough enough to do this despite some dirty plays, hard hits and weird weather. In the end, there's a lot that is gained than just a win. It's the same in every field, there are opportunities no matter what. For myself, for someone with a portrait lens, I managed be tough about it and come out understanding more about life on the sidelines.
I'm glad I got something out of the women's rugby team.

Tuesday, October 20, 2009

Photo Pet Peeve (the introduction)

I decided to start writing about the little annoying things people do with photography equipment or certain things that erk me about photography (I think maybe a few photographers might agree with some of these).

Photo pet peeve #7: Don't break your expensive gear in front of me!

The other week at the day job (disguised in a hat, apron and a mild Quebecois accent) I served a tourist who was lost and confused on where her chai latte was going to be served. I pointed to the direction of pickup when I noticed she had a Canon D40 with a telephoto lens (I figure a 70-200mm). It was dangling on her neck and she was not protecting her massive lens from what could have been one major bang onto the counter right in front of her. I made the face, yep, that face. The face where it's a combination of "what the f**ck" with a side of "why, you stupid bitch."
I hate it when people who can afford amazing equipment that don't know how to take care of it. Mind you I was in that boat before when I used to throw my camera in my knapsack, no casing at all and the look on my photography teacher in cringe (thinking: "she's going to hurt that camera"). My gear is now in a padded bag but still, there are people out there (mainly tourists) who can afford the hardcore gear but are the "point & shoot" type.
You have better gear than me yet I can put that gear into better use. Yes, I know you would want pretty pictures on your day trip however you can still use a "point&shoot" or buy a cheaper DSLR for your need to look like a photographer.
Or better, don't dangle your gear on your neck of your waist. You will break your lens, I know you can afford a new one but I really don't want to know that you can. Or please, put it in your bag, I know the chai latte is more important than your camera but at least it's a lot cheaper to have the chai than pay for a new lens.

Wednesday, October 7, 2009

We’re in Hipster Country: Oh, the Things this Photographer experienced covering POP Montreal.


This is a fresh start, a fresh entry and a step foreword to following a path I went off of a while ago. It’s been a week after experiencing the busiest, craziest time as a photographer and for myself. As a photographer I get to cover another festival, for the first time for another publication. For myself, to endure the craziest work and social schedule without losing a beat.

In a way, I’m glad I’m back doing this, mainly because I said this to my friend (in drunk) at 4 in the morning on day four: I love what I do and don’t want anyone to take this away from me, not even for the stupidest of reasons from previous experiences. I figure with the media writing their show reviews and ins and outs of the last 5 days, this photographer has her own little story to tell…

And yes, I will include the awesome guy I met on night one.

September 30: I finished another early shift, by day Cindy Lopez works in a coffee shop in the heart of the Plateau, in-between she checks her email as she’s also the Photo Editor at The Concordian: a student run newspaper at Concordia University. This week however, by night she’s Chartattack.com’s newest music photographer.
I met the guys at Chart at last year’s POP last year as I helped them out while doing Concordian work. Chart Magazine was my starting point about the music scene in Canada and now I’m part of it.
I was late to the opening party as I have too many jobs. I managed to run into some Fringe Festival buddies (either volunteering or working or checking out the festival). POP Montreal is a lot of things: music, arts, film, parties and well, one more thing…
The time where we find the most hipsters as the Plateau is invaded even more in ironic outfits and way too cool attitude. You can smell the effort at Espace Reunion (or the lack of showering). I walked around the space, art installations consisted of eating a house cake and a dead chocolate bird. The usual Patrick Watson sighting as he was playing with 16 theremins installed in the room making odd sounds Sounds that bought upon the headache that led me to go outside.
I went to check on my bike when I thought I recognized someone. Nope, it was a total stranger and do I have a habit of striking conversations with people I only met for 15 seconds (which sometimes is my downfall). He was not a hipster in a room full of badly dressed “what the f**k” attitude, in a scene where having a discussion with a musician is as entertaining as giving myself a root canal. I asked if he was a volunteer (in the back of my head thinking, “just great, another musician”). The guy was in no part of any art scene and has a useful role in POP Montreal (he did give me a business card as proof). I think at this rate this was worth having the conversation I gotten myself into. I had to go back in and find a spot for Fashion POP; I did talk to him again while the show was running 45 minutes late. We joked on what the collections would be, “I think it’s nothing but American Apparel tights and cowgirl boots”. Typical hipster wear.
My friend asked me before going in “How do you end up talking to the cute guys, I always see you with one?”
“I think it’s the camera.”
Fashion POP was filled to capacity, with industry people and last year’s winning designer (who all this time I’ve mistaken for a really dirty hipster). Patrick Watson sees my camera and starts making silly faces, for someone who is a well known working musician he can still be a ball of fun. Myself and the other photographers made a makeshift photo pit and started shooting designs outside the hipster milieu. Designs of dark colors, classic cuts and then there was the one collection inspired by futuristic qualities (one outfit had one tight made of plastic and had fringes on it).
I knew there was going to be tights.
My writer calls me about day one shows, “I got turned away at Sala Rossa and Club Lambi”. Not a good sign, that was night one for us. I did find the guy from previous, I told him what my writer told me, he said he was going to Lambi later. “If you have trouble getting in, you can text me.” Digging into my pockets and realizing that I have the worst pockets, he was nice enough to give me a new card.
I headed to Sala Rossa for No Bunny; I’ve seen them before on a night I shot three assignments. I was hoping for another go at them, unfortunately No Bunny was a no go. I headed to Lambi and ran into an industry guy I usually run into at shows; he told me that Lambi was sold out. “Try waiting if no one shows up on guest list”. I went upstairs to take a crack with the media pass, I forgot about the RSVP policy at POP, even if you’re media, you have to reserve a spot. I was about to give up when I went into my bad pockets. In the process of texting when the guy shows up and told him what happened. “Wait here.” He said. I waited in a dark stairwell thinking two things: I can get the shot I need thanks to this guy or there goes my chances of ever doing photos for a large based web site. My confidence lies on the power this guy has over a bunch of hipster volunteers.
The minute I saw the hooded stranger waved me up, I’ve never been so ecstatic to see a couple acts I only knew about a couple days before in a crowded space. “You’re awesome, I’m so buying you beer!”
Ninjasonik were a New York duo on before Matt & Kim. I talked with the awesome guy about photo and a blog I keep now and then (I haven’t written in months and would usually sidetrack). “Are you going to mention me if you write one on POP Montreal?” (Note: I didn’t start this up because of some awesome guy, I just had an awesome week). I went back into photo mode and climbed on two wobbly stools for a crowd shot and a close up. I went back to the guy and my beer before Matt and Kim. “I dare you to climb the speakers near the stage.” He said. Not normally risky with my shots, however with the implications of my night of almost not happening and letting some guy I met for nearly an hour determine how I do my job, I figure: “Yeah, I’ll do it.” It was packed and was sweating, I ran into the photographer from the Gazette (who made a deal with a girl who was standing on a stool if she can have her spot for a song). Meanwhile, the guy from Ninjasonik saw me and tickled me.
I made a deal with the photographer on the stage if I can have a turn, “When I get my shot it’s yours”. Matt and Kim, a duo on keyboard and drums playing symp pop were the reason why the room was filled to capacity at midnight on a Wednesday. The floor at Lambi was moving, was my music coverage going to turn into a news incident? The photographer on stage got his shot, it was now my turn.
“Holy crap, this is AWESOME.”
Matt & Kim got the crowd going, crowd surfers moving back and forth, nearing hitting the ceiling fan. I was enjoying the moment, the rowdiness, the mayhem, the loss of weight due to sweating heavily.
I got back to the awesome guy and my beer. He told me about a link on the POP facebook and would email me a link (I gave him a business card too). We trekked out, saw my bike.
“Why don’t I ride on your handle bars?” He joked.
“Nah, you can double up and you ride.”
He took a cab home instead and I pedaled home knowing that my first night as Chart’s photog was going to work out after all. Awesome.

October 1st: With 4 hours sleep under my belt, I turned back to Clark Kent in the morning. I managed the day anticipating a nap and hoping to turn into Photochick (my superhero name). Unfortunately the cafĂ© was busy and became the kryptonite of my day along with covering an e-paper conference. I found time for a nap. At the last minute I decided on Teen Sleuth and the Freed Cyborg Choir. I’ve seen and met them at the Fringe as I did their promo photos. I hopped in a cab and made it. Teen Sleuth added three new songs, the band expanded and had a touch of Arcade Fire in their sound.
I trekked down to Trois Minots to see a friend while the 1st game of the season was going on (a friend gave me slack for choosing POP over hockey). The place was dead, once again I had a choice: hang out in a dead bar or take a chance on Fever Ray at Metropolis.
I left and took another cab.
I was 20 minutes into the set; Fever Ray was a 50/50 chance of being sold out. I flashed my pass and got in. Fever Ray was a Swedish based singer using theatrics such as costumes and lasers. I got a shot from above with her and smoke and lamps. The music was enchanting however wasn’t a big of a fan of theatrics (this coming from the girl who works at Fringe). I ran into some friends and after a 10-minute falafel wait, I trekked to Clues at Cabaret.
Clues reminded me of 1st album Radiohead for some reason. I had trouble shooting from the stage below and opt for the balcony, that’s where I found the guy from last night. Awesome, I got my balcony shot!
What to catch next before Sister Suvi at Balatou, needed to stay on St Laurent.
On the way up I showed the guy from day one Mainline Theatre and the porn place where So Called did his Porn POP show (he accompanied music to gay porn, gay porn became a running joke that night). We went to Balatou for some band and wondered if they were intending to sound bad or were bad (hipsters can be confusing at some times). The lead singer was drunkenly throwing free Cds at the audience hitting a girl on the head. The awesome guy made a joke about the many legal implications that could occur (he’s very familiar with the law). Sister Suvi went on at 1:30AM, had to cut this short as the day job awaits. My writer was going to show however he opted to crowd surf at a punk show at Il Motore. I left, thinking that the next couple of days will be POP heavy. In the back of my mind as I keep running into this guy who helped me, I was thinking am I going to keep running into him only at the festival (because from my experience, I don’t normally run into awesome guys on a normal basis). Just being realistic here.

October 2nd: Last day at the day job, I have the weekend off. I’m good for heavy coverage (Chart will like this). I then forgot that I had to take a portrait of a city councilor for the municipal elections (goodbye nap). My writer was kind enough to give me a ride home. I rested then got my bike ready for a night of trekking in the east Plateau. I reached McGill when I heard a hissing sound, my front tire was slowing running out of air. I had to be at Kid Koala by 9:15PM. I quickly called JR to see if he was open and rode on a flat to his bike shop for an emergency repair. I made it to La Tulipe and pushed through the crowd and made it to the front. Oh no, it’s red lighting. Red lighting is a photographer’s nightmare, where it creates saturation in the images to give a weird arty effect that is impossible to work on in Photoshop.
Thank god they changed lighting, still good to go.
There is a sense of genius where you get a guy with six turntables and a rhythm section consisted of ex members of Wolfmother. This has to be the highlight of my POP; the sounds of scratching and bass lines were pure genius and energy. Best show.
I had time before Japandroids and opt to go to Esgo for Whiskey Trench, side project from The Saint Catherines. After coming from a show like Kid Koala, anything else becomes a disappointment. Seeing a punk band in bad lighting, on no, red lighting.
I left and went to La Gymnaise and waited for Final Flash however running late, I didn’t want to miss Japandroids and left.
I reached Divan Orange and got turned away at Japandroids; I’m sure I RSVPed (or did I? I’m on very little sleep). As I was about to leave and anticipating the rainy bike ride home, the volunteer yells out my name: “We just found you on the list, get in.” I found my Concordian music writer along with the photographer. Japandroids are a BC based duo with a punk style and an audience that likes to push. I ran into my writer (who hasn’t RSVPed the entire POP) and got in through my name. I got pushed by a hipster and got fed up. I was about to leave when the merchandise guy decided to crowd surf and challenged the Montreal crowd to see if they can hold him up the longest. He went back and forth at the Divan Orange; I grabbed my camera and caught this grizzly looking guy surf the bar. He then came towards me and I got out of the way as fast as I could. The things I do to make it as a photographer, holding up a sweaty lumberjack isn’t one of them.

Oct 3rd: Got some sleep and uploaded. I had time(!) to check out World Press Photo in its final weekend. Looking at images of war, human interests and portraits had me thinking that there was a time one of these guys started covering music and weird events before making the leap. Hoping that one day I’ll be going somewhere with this.
In the meantime I don’t seem to be going anywhere. Because of last night’s rain, my bike lock is stuck and I can’t get my bike out. I struggled then a band walking by helped but it was no use. I was near POP Montreal headquarters when I remembered they were renting bikes for the artists, which means there has to be a toolbox. I asked the guy repairing bikes if he had lube; he gave me a powder like version that I put into my lock and worked.
The BBQ got moved because of the weather and caught D’Urbervilles at Green Room; I’m back in Hipster country. I ended up talking to a guy in a granny hat by the name of Beaver and well… I really should stop talking to strangers.
Correction: strange hipsters.
I met up with my writer over at the Copacabana for hockey and beer. We talked of the shows we caught and the strange stories we endured. Overall, it’s been a good experience this time, last year felt too much like work. Mainly because I was still recovering from a wrist injury. After two periods and a pitcher, I headed back to Hipster country to the Ukrainian Federation for FAUST. I submerged into slew of Hipsters sucking their cigarettes and got into the venue. I ran into (you guessed it!) the same guy from day one, whose head was throbbing from constant concerts and countless sleepless nights. I hoped to see him later at Think About Life; I had to do my job first.
After FAUST I swung by Green Room for the last two songs of a set. I noticed that there was a baby in the bar. I found out that her dad was playing in the last set and that it was her first birthday. I told her mom about Kids POP, where it’s an afternoon for kids. She’ll love it.
I arrived at Espace Reunion for Parlovr and Think About Life, I shot these guys a month ago at M for Montreal sur les Quays however my CF card got lost during the Duchess Says set when she went got the crowd going nuts and almost broke the fence. I get a second chance at this, Parlovr brought back the human microphone and head banged their way into the night. My writer wanted me to get a shot of Homosexual Cops, a duo wearing all white and dancing to early 90’s hip hop.
Think About Life were on at 1:30AM, there were about five photographers and the infamous Susan Moss, a well-known music photographer on the Plateau. I forgot that Think About Life crowds were rowdy and pushy so it got really intense for the entire set. I removed layers of clothing and got pushed onto the stage over and over, making sure my gear was still intact. Martin Cesar grew closer to the crowd; I got my shot however I couldn’t get out of the crowd. The girl from The Concordian wanted to crowd surf out, good luck!
This was my version of photojournalism, fighting the elements and a whole lot of risks. I was tired and sweaty, hanging onto a pole, a wave of crowd surfers to the left of me, the audience running up on stage to the right. I’m stuck in the middle of possibly the largest crowd of hipsters I’ve ever been in.
And one of them is wearing a cape and holding a plastic owl.
I did run into the awesome guy, whose head was feeling better. I told him about the after party at Mainline theatre (I don’t think anyone would forget an aluminum door with flames on it). I had a feeling that this might have been the last time I see this guy, I don’t know why but I doubt that I would see him on the last day. The nights are long, the shows are so many, I'm doing a job, there will always be complications. Maybe I'll see him around one of these days. The city is quite small, he would stand out as for one thing: he's not a hipster. My work has to come first however there was an after party to check out. The party was a mesh of musicians and Mainliners and partied until 4AM.

Oct 4th: I thanked god that this was a five-day festival. I had a quiet afternoon checking out the gear swap/vinyl sale then went to Kids POP at Metropolis. It was lots of kids and balls, mainly kids throwing balls (at me). Martin from Think About Life was hosting with a cowgirl and was dressed up as a Frenchman (with a beret and a baguette). Hard to believe how he had the energy to play a show late at night and host and event early in the afternoon, then again look who’s writing this. He did hit me with a ball by the way.
So Called did a set involving a magic trick and led a parade while playing his accordion. I found it strange as I saw him last year doing Porn POP. Nevertheless, it was a fun afternoon.
I went to the last Piknic Electronik of the season, with Mike Simonetti spinning. I ran into someone from the Quays show and he invited me to his international students picnic where I fell under the criteria of “hot looking international girl.” On behalf of my Chilean background, I guess it’ll come in handy when it comes to things like free food and added perks. The last day for POP is always the quiet one, too tired to catch shows.
I decided to go to The Hoof and the Heel at Il Motore where my writer was. I ran into a friend who was heading up there and we doubled it up on my bike (he was not on my handle bars however). The venue wasn’t opened yet and for the first time since my days of underage drinking, we bought beers and drank in an alleyway. With the last of my energy I got my last band of the festival. I was glad it was over.
I was hoping for another party however I never heard back about one. I think I would have been too much of a zombie and less of a photochick. I gave my friend a ride home (as in he did all the pedaling as I sat in the back) then finally went home.

This was a step foreword; this was possibly one of my better festival experiences in a long time. The fact that I was able to do all this and juggle the Cindy Lopez lifestyle of work and produce some work I appreciate (and surviving Hipster country). All I can say is this: Awesome.

So now it’s a week later, still uploading and recovering on sleep. Wondering what does one do after enduring a week like this, do we move foreword or look back on what happened. Either way, it was a great experience and will never complain. In my world, a regular photo assignment or even grabbing a beer with someone always seems to get me into a series of strange yet interesting stories. Glad to be back in the game.

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

Redemption Determination and Prevention

So it had been busy for myself the following had happened:
The Penguins won the cup
I shot the Montreal Fringe Festival
Michael Jackson died (it's everywhere and somehow I managed to put this in this post)

The two I refer to have a great tie in, Michael Jackson I will throw in somehow as it's the most topical, some may not get hockey but would know something about the King of Pop.

The 2009 Pittsburgh Penguins became this metaphor in the last few months. At first it was used as a good guy/bad guy metaphor as I started to see this new guy and wasn't sure if he was going to be one of the good guys (Pittsburgh) or another asshole who will kill the idea for me (Washington in the 2nd round). It went all the way to game 7 and Crosby and co, bad moustache in tow, scored one for the good guys.
The guy in the end is a bit of a dipsh*t however I'll stick to my belief for the time being.
As the conference and then the final was going on, I used the metaphor for myself. The Penguins were on a mission to wipe the slate of the last year, being the losers of the 2008 final against Detroit. No one thought that they would be back, let alone make the playoffs as they sat in 10th place back in February. Then a coaching change and key trades turned this around and so the dream playoff run occurred. Being challenged by gooners, scorers and a cocky Ovechkin standing in their way. They returned with the opportunity to take a 2nd crack at not only the final, but to challenge the team that took their chance the year before: Detroit.
This is where I come in, camera in hand.
The Penguins had a tough 2 games then took it back home, then got embarrassed in game 5 then redeemed themselves in game 6 for the chance at what could be the greatest comeback for the ages. To take in game 7. Cue in the cliches, it comes down to this one game, one moment, anyone can be the hero.
At that same time I was back taking pictures of the Montreal Fringe, the most intense 10 days of photography, little sleep, day job at the same time, calling my family to say I'm still in one piece. Trying to keep focus and redeeming after what happened to me last year also. Last year in the middle of the festival my wrists started to hurt, this is when I found out I had tendinitis and was stressed out at the possibility that my chances at becoming a full time working photographer was diminishing, leaving me heartbroken and confused at "what if this never going to happen".
This time I had to learn from my mistakes and had something to prove. Over the last year I struggled with my wrists and the uncertainty, throw in a lousy job with politics, the whole open relationship fiasco and well, I'm sitting in 10th place.
I kept thinking that I had to redeem myself, forget that last year occurred, I'm a good photographer who isn't ruthless enough to get jobs (or fast enough as missing an email by 2 hours is costly, I'm investing in a blackberry soon).
Game 7 was during day one of fringe shows, so far so good. I learned to not make the Fringe the big thing in my life as I used to anticipate it the most then the rest of the time becomes meh. I took little breaks here and there to make sure that the wrists would get a break before the next round of photos. I got the chance to catch the last period of the Stanley Cup Final and boy was it worth it. It had to have been the most intense 20 minutes of my life and theirs.
They were up 2-0 in Detroit, a series that only the home team would win. Can Fleury keep the puck out of the net? that's all they needed to do, Crosby got hurt but would return to guide his team, a kid who time and time had to prove himself as he has the League on his shoulders, the star attraction of the NHL, the one who had to shine in order to bring in fans, both in Pittsburgh and the sport itself. He's done his part, the team had to follow that lead too.
Then again, he's learned this from the master of redemption and determination (and landlord) Mario Lemieux.
I grew up watching Lemieux, a year after he won his 2nd cup, I missed the chance to see him win and hope to do so. Then I found out what kind of player he was, the kind with adversity in his way. I saw him fight cancer, back problems, a sabbatical, retirement and a return. He also saved the team on the ice and off it as he became a part owner to the franchise that employed him for nearly 25 years. He took in Crosby and helped him out in the rookie year until after many comebacks, a heart condition stopped him for good. The team in turmoil, hoping that the draft and a deal with a casino was to be the key to returning the franchise in it's former glory.
I felt like that that night, to return to something I enjoyed, photography had been nothing but a 9-5 job I despises. Where's the creativity, the feeling of a job well done? It had been hard as not only with the wrists and personal problems, I was taking pics the wrong way. Playing it safe, not being passionate about my craft. Watching 2nd rate photographers get the jobs that I could have gotten, that it was all for show, shiny equipment and a mouth to match. There are no Cartier Bressons or Mary Ellen Marks, only Joe whoever who just bought the latest in gear and running with it.
That is not how I play or shoot.
Game 7 is not photography but the passion is there, the idea that it comes down to this one moment, anything can go wrong, anything can happen. The idea of determination is wild and crazy, the fact that the emotions play a role in whether you will have the joy of winning or a painful loss replaying in your head. My tears while I held my wrist while I was taking pictures is something I play over my head to remind me that this was my lowest point in my photography career and I wish to never go through it again.
With only 3 minutes to play, 2-1 Pittsburgh, this might actually happen.
It was the most intense 3 minutes, come on Fleury, it comes down to you.
He lived up in the last 2 games after the embarrassing 5-0 loss in game 5, making one hell of a save on Lindstrom, the last 15 seconds felt like eternity. I screamed and stood up as I witnessed possibly the best win ever. I've waited 17 years for this, it's been 6 years since I picked the Stanley Cup winner. The Penguins pulled off a hell of a run, they wiped the slate of 2008 and now were champions. I got to see Sid the Kid live up, players who lost in last year's final make the most noise in Detroit. I got the chance to see Mario Lemieux hoist the cup, this time as an owner.
The next day I bought myself a Pittsburgh Penguins cap (my first one in 16 years) and wore it throughout the Fringe, it was a reminder that determination and redemption after a loss can be possible. I had fun, I was focused and did some good work. To me, it's the beginning of a series of events that will help me get back to the way I used to take pictures. I know you're all thinking: it's only a hockey game. I had read Ken Dryden's The Game a month before and the sport, the mentality, makes a great metaphor of the human condition whether if it's hockey, photography or even crossing the street.
Which brings me to now, on my way to Toronto to see if I can get the feeling back in my images, escaping some backlash from the wrists and some personal setbacks. I have had some issues to deal with: the uncertainty, the lack of confidence from when I had the wrist problems, the angry drinking and the feeling that I reek of "open relationship" (I still get angry that I did this, twice). Dealing with deadbeats, douchebags, jerkfaces and dipsh*ts is like going against media scrutiny, great expectations, rivalries, tough teams per series. I think to me, overcoming the wrists and the open relationship is my version of Detroit: they are tough, strong and coming at me.
So, this is where I throw in Michael Jackson.
Some people will love what you do but you know there will be others out there to make you feel bad and want to knock you down. To call you names, to not hire you after saying that you do good work (mainly personal because like I said about my job, it's politics). Everything is ruthless and when someone sticks out, out comes the green eyes. Michael Jackson was a gifted talent who could have been eternal however dealing with the wrong people, making bad choices, knocked him down. What he wanted was to be happy and entertained, happiness was a struggle, been watched to see if he was going to do another freaky thing. People he wanted to trust, instead would be the cause of his demise and shortly, his death.
All he wanted to do is redeem himself, to put on 50 concerts as his comeback because we all knew he had it. And he did, this was the 1st step, the 1st step is always the tricky part. Unfortunately it was too late.
I sometimes wonder if it's too late, a part of me is gun ho about the prospects of doing photography however I'm nearing 30 and still is nagging in my head whether or not I can do this. I then look at Bill Guerin, his last Cup was in 1995, he was with the Islanders until the trading deadline, he may not be a great scorer but man, can he play.
I took the 1st step, I have my camera on me now, been writing and all. I'm not going to predict what will happen in the next while, whether if it's Toronto, Halifax or New York, I know I that I've done this before and can do it again. To learn from my mistakes and go foreword but look back and avoid history repeating.
It took Mario Lemieux 17 years to hoist the cup again, I know in my field of choice, opportunities are like Stanley Cup finals: it doesn't happen that often but when it does, it's worth going after it again and again.


By the way, there are some awesome Montreal acts performing their hearts out in Toronto, the hockey metaphor works here as Toronto is no Montreal. You can either win the hearts or not be recieved, go support Montreal as they're in the final days at the Toronto Fringe.

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Will there be a version 5?

So I've been reading, taking notes, catching random thoughts and seeing things through different light. It seems to be that I'm going towards the right direction, the camera in my bag is loaded with film and I've been snapping away. The question lies:
will there be a 5th book project???
I've been wondering myself the same thing, the project has always been my training wheels into getting myself to do new portraits. The last version was such a journey and the result was positive. A third of my portraits were strong. The words were out there, colors were vivid.
That was me two years ago, in an age of naivety and exploration. Now, I've been exploited, used and defeated. It doesn't seem like an exploration I want to dive into, or do I?
Maybe cynicism can reflect in a different way in a story line or in images.
I don't know yet, still researching. I mean, I've approached photography as the medium of "making things look good." In all sorts, we try to find the good in everything, even in it's ugliest. However, after what has happened in the last year with:
Maximum mind, minimum wage
sh**ty wrists
constant drinking
the "open" relationship(s)
knowing too many dark secrets
I'm having a hard time seeing the beauty in souls. All I see is hate, all I see are lies. This new friend I made wants me to trust him, I can't, I won't. I really want to however I've been burned too many times my skin hasn't had the time to heal properly. It's covered in scars. Scars that I see and (I think) other people can see too, they see the weak in me and go after it.
Trust is a big deal for me, good people are rare. Good is pure beauty.
However all I see is anger and a load of crap.
This could make the process of creating a strong body of work complicated. It's there, the eyes, people have seen a glimpse of what I can really do, I can push it however I hold back because I know in the process, as a photographer and as a person, I will get hurt, might get knocked down, and I don't want to start from zero.
But I don't want to stall anymore either.
More notes to make, ideas to process, I know I will be taking pictures.
Question will be if it'll be my new project?

Monday, May 18, 2009

Cindy's (shorten) playoff blog

It's that time of year again...
yes, I know it's the Conference final, the 2009 NHL playoffs started a month ago, my Canadiens ousted in 4 games and the Penguins (with an even sleazier Sidney Crosby moustache) are in the final four. This is the shorten version of the playoff blog because:
1) My home team has been long gone, gone before even qualifying
2) I really needed to think about this
The 2008-09 Montreal Canadiens had high expectations this past season, it was the centennial of the franchise. History and perfection were being sought for a franchise that were slowly inching towards being true contenders.
However...
things do happen. Hockey is like real life, things don't always pan out.
We had a great start then injuries and politics played a role. Fans in Montreal are finicky bastards who claim they can be better management than Bob Gainey.
However, can some Joe Shmoe run a franchise better than a man who has won 6 Stanley cups as a player and a gm. Can Joe Shmoe talk sense into a bunch of Russians. Can Joe Shmoe convince the star goaltender that things will be fine rather than threaten to trade the entire squad?
When the chips are down, the fans become impatient. This is where I hate being a Montreal fan. Being a Habs fan is like being in a roller coaster relationship: you're going to have to support and deal with it and not give up on it. It's work it in the long run, there are bumps on the road.
Last I checked, you can't trade your boyfriend, sometimes you wish to but you can't.
There were high points after the Kovalev drama, the Kostisyn's gangster incident and the loss of Carbo the awesome coach (who knew from day 1 of the pressures of being in the Montreal lineup). There is a reason why French Canadian players don't want to play here: they're not the Rocket or Beliveau or Lafleur. No French player can handle the expectations. It's understandable.
The high points were that the squad starting to win, look like how they were at the beginning of the season. They were healthy, they were in form under Gainey's reign they...
lost both Scheider and Markov with under 5 games to go. Oh no.
We lost the last set of games, an overtime loss gave us the point to squeeze into the 8th spot. And worse, we would play Boston, the reversal of roles from the season before. Boston was strong in scoring, defense, goaltending and yes, Michael Ryder wanting his revenge after being unloaded by Les Glorieux.
Game 1: Was at Hatter's in the heart of downtown with friends and 7 pitchers. The rule of thumb in the playoffs is to show up to the bar earlier. The game was great, the Habs looked good, but Boston played great.
This is where 7 pitchers does come in handy.
Game 2: My friend's house in the suburbs. The setup looked like a little hockey shrine, I'm always the only girl watching the games. Beer and pizza (made with halal meat) and a blowout.
Wondering if they will pulled Price for Halak. At least there was Halal.
Game 3: went back to Ye Olde on the Main where I watched them win back in the day (like 6 months before). Beer and chips, still the chips were down for Price. Come on, we can't get swept.
Game 4: I went with a friend to the fan zone, the atmosphere alive in bleu blanc rouge. You can smell the history, the 24 Stanley cups in the air. The time of year where hockey matters and anyone can be the hero each game. Guys that play hurt and broken because this can be their last game. We went to McKibbin's for a last meal (it was a deluxe burger, it felt like I was going on death row) and of course, beer.
The Canadien's played the best hockey in game 4 and had the lead...for 12 minutes. Then got blown away. The fans, god damn you fans, were booing Price, it's always picking on Price. Wanting another Dryden, another Roy. But Price is neither of them, he is a 21 year old finding his way. He lifts his arms up in the air stating "ENOUGH!" Enough of the scrutiny, enough of the past, this is now, this is the Montreal Canadiens of today. The NHL is not how it was in Beliveau's day, Roy's day, not even 2 years ago. We don't know what these teams are like if the results will happen in the long run or in the short run. Price has shown that he is a capable goaltender, goaltenders don't truly develop until a few years in the league. Mentality is key, 21 000 fans booing the crap out of you doesn't really build confidence. Patrick Roy, yes, but then again, he hated to lose. Maybe we've seen the glimmer of this in the arms but in time, ease up on the expectations.
Cut to now...
The best series so far was the Washington/Pittsburgh series. Crosby vs Ovechkin. Who's the better player, Ovechkin can score goals, Crosby can shoot goals, play defense, lead the team. Hmm, I think the slap in the face was in game 7 when Ovechkin lost the puck on a giveaway and Crosby takes it away on a breakaway to seal the fate of the Capitals.
Crosby can now extend his attempt at facial hair for another week.
So it's down to 4, in the west it's the best of the Original 6 (Detroit/Chicago) while in the east it's a family affair (Pittsburgh/Carolina each have a Staal brother). It could be a rematch of last year's final or a battle of young guns or a dynasty in the making.
Either way, it's great hockey and yes, there will be beer.

Friday, March 27, 2009

An Occurence, all worth an HOUR

I hit a breaking point.
So, after my meeting last week with the one (formally known as Jerkface), I was (you guessed it) contemplating. I was also by myself, editing my crazy Canadian Music Week photos when I get a call about the use of my riot photo from the anti brutality riots...
from the HOUR.
Not the show but a weekly (one of two popular ones in Montreal). Paid and published I was. It was a turning point to the Hell I had put myself, the fact I got the call, any call will do (as long as you credit the crap out of me).
I've been feeling good as of late, maybe the weather or the fact that in my head, I'm starting to put together pieces of an incomplete puzzle.
Funny that for a photographer I've lost focus, especially in the last year. I've been at my best but I've still have a ways to go, especially in the redemption dept. I've done this over and over and yet, these things keep happening, the fall from grace all because I'm not man enough for myself. Or the selection and perspective I have about who enters my heart (or in most cases, my pants).
It's not a man bash but more of, more me less them. I should never think of them in the higher sense or think that they might care or rely on their expectations.
I accidentally watched a new school episode of Degrassi, I was tired but still, it's Degrassi. A girl, typical bright, pretty, the usual: wants a guy to like her. She gives up her virginity, for what, so he can like her. She felt awful more because she gave it up for him, not herself.
I'm certain that I've lost it way too many times.
I'm thinking of the many times I've done things for him, not me.
The following come to mind:
lending him money
taking out a student loan
almost quitting my job
almost falling off a balcony
doing the open relationship
certain acts I can't even name (yes, they're dirty)
keeping quiet when you know he's dead wrong
keeping quiet about the no job situation
trusting he can keep a secret
letting him call me names
getting drunk when I can't drink no more
trying to be emotional unavailable (even when dangled for months)
I'm thinking if it weren't for all of the above, that I have to come first, then my photo career and degree, along with self esteem, confidence and even an apt, would have come sooner or happen...NOW.
So guys, love you to bits but look at the damage done. You are the most useless saving graces in the history of the lineup, I ask myself if it's all worth losing myself to. At 29, I shouldn't be weeping like a 16 year old all because I want to be liked. Yes, I would like to be liked but I think I've given enough of my attention.
I would like to give my attention to:
my flickr account
my contact list
people I meet on shoots
helping out someone who needs an ear (or a picnic)
publications I've interested in
I don't normally get the call but I figure if I do follow up, they will call more often than any guy I've seen in the last two years.

The story so far...

My photo
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Cindy is trying her best to make a career as a photographer and throws in her writing as a balance (as she did a degree in Creative Writing). Cindy may have this background however still wants to understand what makes people tick, have strange stories of their own and why is it so hard from them to order coffee (really, it's not that hard).